Unlock Your True Potential With This Guide On Chakra Yoga

Yoga, the ancient art of uniting your body and mind has helped millions unlock their true self. This ancient art has transitioned to a global phenomenon owing to its numerous benefits. Daily yoga practice offers you benefits including decreased risk of mental and physical health problems. Add to that, there are a variety of yoga styles like Hatha, Vinyasa, and Ashtanga among others. One of these is the chakra yoga for beginners that helps you dive deeper into your being.

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means spinning wheel. According to yogic tradition, your body consists of seven chakras that project your consciousness and impact how you experience reality. Any problem in either of these can manifest as physical symptoms of mental or physical health issues. To help you understand this yoga style, yoga experts have come up with a small guide.

Chakra Yoga – A Brief Intro

The concept of yoga chakras is deeply rooted in Hindu and Buddhist traditions. With time, it made its way into the realm of yoga. According to these traditions, your body consists of not just bones, muscles, tendons, skin, and organs. There are multiple layers of energy fields surrounding the physical body. These exist in your subtle body and are known as the energy body.

Your body comprises of seven chakras. The sacred life force, known as the Prana travels through these sacred channels. Each of these chakras represents different values and behaviors in life.

Your sense of security, ability to communicate, and feel love, and compassion are a part of these seven chakras. Moreover, these regulate the various bodily systems and senses to help you form genuine connections with your true self and others.

Let us now understand what these seven chakras are made of.

What Are Chakras Made Of?

The chakras are spinning circles of energy and are present in your subtle body. These are made up of an accumulation of the intersection of different yoga Nadis. There are a total of 72,000 Nadis in your body and extend out from the spinal cord.

Ever wondered what would happen if any of your chakras got blocked.

What Happens If The Energy Is Blocked In Either Of These Chakras?

A blockage of energy flow in either of these chakras due to environmental factors or bad habits results in emotional, mental, and physical imbalance. Moreover, you also experience intense negative emotions like anxiety, laziness, and even digestive health issues.

However, you can learn Chakra yoga by enrolling in yoga teacher training for starters under the guidance of yoga masters. A proper chakra yoga practice unblocks the energy in all of the seven chakras.

You do this by practicing Yoga Mudras, Pranayama, and meditation to cleanse and balance out all yoga Nadis and chakras. However, you might ask – Why should I study Chakra yoga? Don't worry, yoga experts have the answer.

Why Study Yoga Chakras For Beginners?

Similar to understanding yoga anatomy and body movements during yoga asana practice, chakra yoga helps you wield the hidden subtle energies to align your outer body with the inner. This gives you powerful tools for a deeper self-diagnosis and healing.

With that said, let us now understand what these seven chakras are.

The 7 Chakras

Chakras are the energy centers present in your subtle body. These help you form a deeper connection with your true self.

That being said, given below are all seven chakras in detail.

1. Root Chakra

Known as Muladhara, the root chakra is located at the base of your spine. It provides a solid foundation for your life and keeps you grounded. This chakra is responsible for providing you a sense of security and stability.

2. Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra, known as Svadhisthana is located below your belly button. This chakra is responsible for providing you with creative and sexual energy. It is also related to how you experience different emotions.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Known as Manipura, the Solar Plexus Chakra is located in your stomach area. It is responsible for self-esteem and confidence. You should enroll in chakra yoga for a beginner's class to learn everything about this chakra.

4. Heart Chakra

Anahata chakra, also known as the Heart Chakra is located near your heart in the center of your chest. It helps you experience emotions like love and compassion towards others.

5. Throat Chakra

Vishhudha Chakra, known as Throat Chakra is located in your throat. This chakra controls your ability to communicate verbally. Enroll in yoga teacher training for starters to learn more about this yoga chakra.

6. Third Eye Chakra

Do you want to develop a stronger gut instinct? You should do chakra yoga to concentrate on the Ajna chakra, also known as the Third Eye chakra. It helps you develop a strong intuition and imagination power.

7. Crown Chakra

Sahasrara, known as the Crown Chakra is located on top of your head. This chakra helps you establish a strong spiritual connection with the universe.


Do you want to experience a deeper spiritual connection with your true self? You should enroll in a chakra yoga for beginners session to unlock the seven chakras. These would help unlock not just your true potential but also enjoy a deeper connection with the universe at large.

E-mail me when people leave their comments –

You need to be a member of Yoga Vidya International - Yoga, Meditation and Spirituality to add comments!

Join Yoga Vidya International - Yoga, Meditation and Spirituality